Sharing Rules

Second CRM allows you to set default privileges that are valid organization-wide. The purpose of this type of privilege is to give an administrator tools that allow a fast overall security setting.

The Sharing Rules privileges include Global Access Privileges, which apply to all users, and Custom Access Privileges, which may be specified as necessary. By default the sharing access settings allow all users to use all Second CRM features if not limited by their profile. In most cases there is no need to change this. However, if necessary you can restrict the access to individual modules within your organization.

If you make changes to the sharing rules you must click the Apply New Sharing Rules button to make your changes valid.

Go to the Sharing Rules menu to get an overview about the settings. Second CRM comes with default Global Access Privileges for the most important CRM modules as shown in the figure below. These privileges control the data sharing at organization level.

sharing

The following sharing permission types can be set:

Table Sharing Permission Types
Type Description
Public: Read Only All users can view all records but cannot modify and delete the records. Only the owner, and users with a role which is above that of the record owner's role in the hierarchy, can edit or delete those records.
Public: Read, Create/Edit All users can view and edit all records. Only the owner, and users with a role which is above that of the record owners role in the hierarchy, can delete those records.
Public: Read, Create/Edit, Delete All users can view, edit and delete all records.
Private Only the record owner, and users with a role which is above that of the record owner's role in the hierarchy, can browse, edit, delete and report on those records. That means by default a specific user can view only the data sets that are owned by the user, owned by a group where the user is a member, owned by subordinate users, or shared to the user.

In addition, you may create user defined sharing rules set by clicking Add Custom Rule in the Advanced Sharing Rules column. These functions allow the administrators to selectively grant data access to a set of users.

Sharing Rules can be created for the following modules:

Table: Sharing Rules for Modules
Leads Sharing Rules Leads owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of another Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission. E-mails related to a lead will also be shared with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Accounts Sharing Rules Accounts owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of a Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission. E-mails related to account will also be shared with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Potentials Sharing Rules Potentials owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of a Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Quotes and Sales Orders related to a potential will also be shared with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Service Request Sharing Rules Service Requests owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of a Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Email Sharing Rules E-mails owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of a Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Quotes Sharing Rules Quotes owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of a Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Sales Orders related to a quote will also be shared with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Purchase Order Sharing Rules Purchase Orders owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of a Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Sales Order Sharing Rules Sales Order owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of a Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Invoices related to a sales order will also be shared with Read Only or Read/Write permission.
Invoice Sharing Rules Invoices owned by the users of a given Role/Role Subordinates/Group can be shared with users of a Role/Role Subordinates/Group with Read Only or Read/Write permission.

Sharing Rules created for the Accounts module will automatically apply to the Contacts module.

Please note the following general sharing rules:

  • Custom Rules can only extend the visibility, but they cannot hide it.
  • Sharing Rules cannot be specified to share data between two users.
  • Sharing Rules apply to all existing data and the data which will be added in future.
  • The number of sharing rules which can be defined for a single Role, Role Subordinates or Group is unlimited.


Second CRM is an award winning business automation solution, designed to make medium to large corporations more productive, by automating their business operations, using Internet and mobile technologies. Second CRM focuses on improving sales & marketing, customer support and operations.